Tag Archives: Revelation 5

Read the New Testament in a year, one chapter a day, five days a week

Day 243/260: Read Revelation 5

Jesus is worthy. Jesus is deserving. Jesus should be praised and worshiped. All the heavenly host declared that Jesus, the Lamb who was slain, was worthy to receive the following:

  • Power
  • Riches
  • Wisdom
  • Strength
  • Honor
  • Glory
  • Blessing

Count it up. There are seven things they proclaim He is worthy to receive. It is no accident that He is declared worthy to receive seven things; seven is the symbolic number of completeness!

How often should I forgive my brother? Jesus says, “Seventy times seven” (Matthew 18:22). In other words, our forgiveness of each other should be so complete, we lose count!

Jesus is worthy to receive complete praise. Complete worship. Complete honor. Don’t ever forget that He is worthy!

Memory (Fill in the blanks)

Revelation 4:11. “You are ____________, O Lord, to receive glory and ____________ and power; for You created ________ things, and by Your will they exist and were created.”


Pray a prayer of praise for the Lamb who laid down His life for your eternal salvation.

A Study of Revelation: Revelation 4-5 (The Throne Scene)

Revelation chapters 4-5 (The Throne Scene)

The One on the throne was (and still is) God
Jasper and sardius stone – righteousness and mercy
Rainbow – brings to mind God’s covenant after the flood (Genesis 9:12-17)

24 elders represent 12 tribes and 12 apostles
“Lightnings, thunderings, and voices” – Jehovah’s omnipotent nature (cf. Exodus 19:16)

Sea represents society
Lion = ferocious strength
Calf (ox) = great endurance under burden
Man = intelligence, reason, and wisdom
Eagle = penetrating vision and swiftly executed judgment
Living creatures similar to seraphim (Isaiah 6:1-3)

Casting crowns shows humility, knowledge that power comes from God

Seals restricted unauthorized people from opening it to reveal its contents
“The Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David” – refers to blessing Jacob gave to Judah (Genesis 49:8-10) and the royal relation to David
The paradox of “the Root of David” – Christ sprang from David, but was the Lord of David (Isaiah 11:1,10; Romans 15:12; Zechariah 3:8; 6:12)

The sacrificial Lamb without blemish (Isaiah 53:7; John 1:29,36; 1 Peter 1:18-21)
Seven horns – symbolize full and complete authority

The harps are symbolic of joy and praise
This does not give us any more authority to use literal instruments in praise than it gives us the authority to use literal incense in prayers!

It is no accident that He is declared worthy to receive seven things, as seven is the symbolic number of completeness

1. What was the covenant God made with man which is represented by the rainbow?

2. What do the twenty-four elders represent?

3. What are the four living creatures, and what do they symbolize?

4. Who was worthy to open the scroll and loose its seals? In what three ways is He depicted?